7 AI Visibility Tools That Write and Publish to WordPress (2026)
By Anu Verma
The pick for tracking AI answers and publishing to WordPress from one plan is Cituna: it checks seven AI engines daily, and its AutoSEO writes 30 articles a month on the $49 Starter plan (90 on Pro, 300 on Max) and publishes them to WordPress with approval or automatically. For a choice between a plugin and an application password pick Sight AI ($99), for a fixed 30 articles on one plan RankSpot ($99), and for drafts that always wait for an editor Lantern or Semji.

An AI visibility tool that also publishes to WordPress closes the loop: it sees which buyer questions name a rival instead of you, writes the article that answers them, and puts it on your site. This roundup compares seven tools that both track AI answers and state a WordPress publishing route on their own pages, then shows how to connect any of them safely, using WordPress's own documentation.
The short answer: for tracking and publishing on one plan, the pick is Cituna. It checks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode every day, and AutoSEO writes 30 articles a month on Starter at $49, then publishes them to WordPress with approval or automatically. If you want a plugin as an option, look at Sight AI. If you want one plan with a fixed article count, RankSpot. If every article must wait for an editor, Lantern or Semji.
Which AI visibility tools publish to WordPress?
Prices are the cheapest published plan, billed monthly. "Not stated" means the vendor's page did not say on the date shown.
| Tool | Best for | AI engines tracked | WordPress connection | Drafts or auto-publish | Articles a month | Cheapest plan | Trial | Date read |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cituna | Tracking seven engines daily and publishing from the same plan | 7: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, AI Overviews, AI Mode | WordPress destination in AutoSEO; steps in Cituna's setup guide | Approval or automatic; Starter drafts by default | 30 Starter, 90 Pro, 300 Max | $49 Starter | 3 days, card required; the trial writes but does not publish | 24 Oct 2026 |
| Lantern | Drafts that wait for an editor | ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, AI Overviews, Claude | Application password, plus field mapping | Drafts for human review; no auto-publish described | Not stated (plans count agent runs) | Free plan; Pro $89 | Free plan (ChatGPT only) | 24 Oct 2026 |
| Skayle | Approving every article before it goes live | ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude, Perplexity (its page is inconsistent on Perplexity) | Application password | Review and approve before live; auto-publish not stated | Not stated (an article uses 3 of Growth's 100 credits) | $89 Growth | 7 days (card terms not stated) | 24 Oct 2026 |
| RankSpot | One plan with a fixed 30 articles | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, AI Overviews | Application password over the REST API, no plugin | Draft with one-click approval, or automatic | 30 | $99 All-in-One | 3 days (card terms not stated) | 24 Oct 2026 |
| Sight AI | Choosing a plugin or an application password | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok; AI Mode and AI Overviews from Pro | Application password or the Sight AI plugin, over the REST API | Draft, scheduled or published; per-article approval | Not stated (about 100 credits an article, from 5,000 a month on Starter) | $99 Starter | 7 days, card required | 24 Oct 2026 |
| Indexly | An autopilot agent with a stated article count | ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok, Claude, AI Overviews | Method not described | Review optional; autopilot on Growth and Scale | 10 Starter (no CMS), 30 Growth, 60 Scale | $299 Growth for CMS publishing | Not stated | 24 Oct 2026 |
| Semji | Enterprise content teams on WordPress with Yoast | ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, DeepSeek | CMS connection that names WordPress with Yoast; method not stated | Drafts unless an agent is asked to publish | Not stated | Quote only | Terms not stated | 24 Oct 2026 |
Facts come from each vendor's own WordPress or integration page, pricing page or home page, read 24 October 2026, except Lantern's WordPress details, which come from its announcement post dated 30 March 2026. Cituna's figures are from its pricing page.
How we chose these seven
This is a desk comparison of published vendor pages, not a hands-on test. We did not connect any of these tools to a WordPress site for this guide. A tool had to clear three bars on its own website:
- It tracks how AI engines mention or cite brands, not only Google rankings.
- It writes articles, not only briefs or scores.
- It names WordPress as a place it publishes or sends those articles.
Cituna comes first as our pick, for daily tracking on seven engines with articles that publish with approval or automatically from the $49 plan. The rest follow by the monthly price of their cheapest published paid plan, which is a way to find an entry point, not a score. Where a vendor's pages disagreed with themselves, the table says so.
How do AI visibility tools connect to WordPress?
There are three common routes, and the one a tool uses decides how much you have to trust it:
- Application password. WordPress's own feature for letting an outside app call the WordPress REST API as one user. Nothing is installed on your site. RankSpot, Skayle and Lantern describe this route, and Sight AI offers it as one of two options.
- Plugin. You install the vendor's plugin from wp-admin. Sight AI offers this as its second option. A plugin is code running inside your site, so it is a bigger trust decision than a password you can revoke.
- Webhook or API. The tool sends the finished article to an address you control, and your own code or automation creates the post. Cituna's AutoSEO can publish to any CMS by webhook, alongside WordPress, Shopify, Sanity and GitHub.
According to WordPress's developer documentation, application passwords arrived in WordPress 5.6 in December 2020, are shown only once when created, are available over HTTPS by default, cannot be used to log in to wp-admin, and can be revoked one at a time (WordPress application passwords, read 24 October 2026). That makes them the easiest route to undo if something goes wrong.
Should the tool publish automatically or save drafts?
Start with drafts on every tool, then decide per category. Automatic publishing saves the most time, but an article that misstates your price or a rival's features is live until someone notices. The tools differ here:
- Approval or automatic: Cituna (Starter drafts by default), Sight AI (draft, scheduled or published, plus per-article approval) and RankSpot (draft mode with one-click approval from the WordPress editor, or articles that go live automatically).
- Approval before going live: Skayle says you review, edit and approve content before it goes live on WordPress; its page does not mention automatic publishing.
- Drafts only, as described: Lantern sends drafts that wait for a final human review, and Semji creates drafts unless an agent is explicitly asked to publish.
- Configurable: Indexly says workflows can include team review and approval, and its autopilot agent is on Growth and Scale.
Our checklist for checking AI output at work is a good template for what an editor should look at before approving a draft.
How many articles a month do you actually get?
Three of the seven state a monthly count. Cituna writes 30 articles a month on Starter, 90 on Pro and 300 on Max. RankSpot's single plan includes 30. Indexly's Content Writer gives 10 on Starter, 30 on Growth and 60 on Scale, though CMS publishing starts on Growth.
The others meter writing in credits that are shared with other features. Sight AI's pricing page says an article is about 100 credits, against 5,000 credits a month on Starter. Skayle says an article costs 3 credits, against 100 a month on Growth. Lantern counts agent runs, and Semji publishes no limits. With credits, the real number depends on what else you spend them on, so ask the vendor how many articles a typical month produces before you compare prices.
How to connect an AI visibility tool to WordPress safely
These steps follow WordPress's own documentation and work with any tool that accepts an application password. They need nothing beyond a WordPress admin account.
1. Check your site can use application passwords
You need WordPress 5.6 or later and a site served over HTTPS, because application passwords are only available over HTTPS by default (WordPress application passwords). If the Application Passwords section does not appear on your profile page, ask whoever manages the site whether it has been turned off.
2. Create a dedicated user for the tool
In wp-admin, add a new user just for the tool, named after it, so every post it creates is attributed to that account and can be found later. Do not reuse your own account or an administrator.
3. Give that user the smallest role that works
WordPress's roles page describes an Author as someone who can publish and manage their own posts, and an Editor as someone who can publish and manage posts including those of other users (WordPress roles and capabilities, read 24 October 2026). Its capability table gives Authors the right to publish posts and upload files, but not to publish pages.
- Choose Author if the tool only writes and publishes blog posts with images.
- Choose Editor only if the tool must create pages or update posts written by other people.
- Avoid Contributor for a publishing tool: a Contributor can write posts but cannot publish them or upload files, so featured images will not upload.
4. Generate an application password for that user
Sign in as the new user and open Users, then Profile, or as an administrator open Users, All Users, then Edit on that user. In the Application Passwords section, type the tool's name, generate the password and copy it straight away, because WordPress shows it only once.
5. Paste the details into the tool
Most tools ask for three things: your site address, the dedicated user's username and the application password. Never give a tool your own login password. Set the tool's default publish status to draft before the first article runs.
6. Review the first drafts in WordPress
Open the first two or three drafts in the WordPress editor and check the parts that break most often in automated publishing: headings, internal links, categories and tags, the featured image and its alt text, and any SEO plugin fields. Check every price, date and rival claim against its source.
7. Turn on approval or automatic publishing, one area at a time
Once the drafts need only light edits, switch on the tool's approval flow or automatic publishing for one category first. Keep higher-risk content, such as pricing comparisons, on manual approval.
8. Keep one password per tool, and revoke what you stop using
WordPress recommends one application password per integration, revoking any you no longer need, and rotating them on a schedule or after a suspected leak. Each password records when and from which IP address it was last used, which helps you spot one that is still active after you cancelled the tool. You can revoke a password from the same profile section, or with WP-CLI using wp user application-password delete <user-id> <uuid>.
The 7 tools, one by one
1. Cituna
Cituna checks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, Grok, Google AI Overviews and Google AI Mode every day for the buyer questions you choose, and records which brands and pages each answer names. Its AutoSEO feature writes articles: 30 a month on Starter ($49, 1 brand, 10 prompts), 90 on Pro ($119, 3 brands, 30 prompts) and 300 on Max ($399, 10 brands, 90 prompts). It publishes them to WordPress, Shopify, Sanity, GitHub or any CMS by webhook, with approval or automatically; Starter saves drafts by default. Paid plans also include Google Search Console, generated fixes (schema, FAQs and llms.txt), unlimited page audits and AI crawler analytics. Cituna's own comparison of AI visibility tools that write content points to a separate WordPress setup guide for the connection steps.
Best for: teams that want the gap found and the article published from one subscription.
Where it falls short: it does not track Microsoft Copilot, the 3-day trial needs a card and writes articles without publishing them, and Starter covers one brand and 10 prompts.
2. Lantern
Lantern's announcement post, dated 30 March 2026, says you connect WordPress by entering your site URL and API credentials, authenticating with a WordPress application password and mapping Lantern's content fields to your post structure. Content arrives as a draft, already formatted, and waits for a person to publish it; HubSpot works the same way. The same post says its agent monitors ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Google AI Overviews and Claude. Its pricing page lists a free plan (ChatGPT only, 10 agent runs a month) and Pro at $89 a month covering ChatGPT, Claude, Google and Gemini (Lantern pricing, read 24 October 2026).
Best for: editorial teams that never want anything to go live without a person pressing publish.
Where it falls short: the pricing page names neither WordPress nor an article count, and it gives two different figures for some plan limits, so confirm what Pro includes before you buy.
3. Skayle
Skayle's WordPress page says you link your site with a secure application password, and that content arrives with formatting, SEO fields and categories, ready for you to review, edit and approve before it goes live (Skayle for WordPress, read 24 October 2026). It says it can create 10 to 100 or more WordPress-ready articles per batch and track when your site is cited in ChatGPT, Gemini, Claude and Perplexity, though a later section lists only the first three. Growth is $89 a month for 100 credits and 15 tracked prompts, and Authority is $299 for 500 credits and 50 prompts; an article costs 3 credits (Skayle pricing). It offers a 7-day free trial.
Best for: teams that want a fixed approval step on every WordPress article.
Where it falls short: no monthly article count, automatic publishing is not described, and the pricing page does not say which engines each plan tracks.
4. RankSpot
RankSpot's WordPress page says it uses the WordPress REST API with no plugin needed: you paste your site URL and generate an application password. Articles can sit in draft mode for one-click approval from your WordPress editor, or go live automatically (RankSpot for WordPress, read 24 October 2026). Its single All-in-One plan is $99 a month for 30 articles and 50 tracked questions, with a 3-day trial that includes 3 articles (RankSpot pricing). The pricing page lists ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and AI Overviews, while its trial FAQ lists ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini and Google AI.
Best for: a simple fixed monthly allowance with both draft and automatic options.
Where it falls short: one plan, an engine list that differs between sections of the same page, and no card terms stated for the trial.
5. Sight AI
Sight AI's WordPress page offers two routes, an application password generated under your WordPress profile or the Sight AI plugin, and says it talks to the WordPress REST API for reads and writes. You can set the default status to draft, scheduled or published, and turn on per-article approval in its dashboard; it says each article is submitted to Google and Bing when it goes live (Sight AI for WordPress, read 24 October 2026). Starter is $99 a month for 5,000 AI credits and 100 prompts on ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity and Grok; Pro at $199 adds Google AI Mode and AI Overviews with unlimited prompts. Its pricing page says an article is about 100 credits, and the 7-day trial needs a card (Sight AI pricing).
Best for: sites that want a plugin option or scheduled publishing.
Where it falls short: articles come out of a shared credit pool, and Google AI Overviews and AI Mode start on the $199 plan.
6. Indexly
Indexly's pricing page gives Starter at $99 a month for 10 articles and 50 prompts, but with no CMS integration and no autopilot agent. Growth at $299 adds CMS integrations and its Auto-Pilot AI SEO agent with 30 articles and 100 prompts, and Scale at $499 gives 60 articles and 200 prompts (Indexly pricing, read 24 October 2026). Its home page lists WordPress.org and WordPress.com as destinations, says review and approval steps are optional, and names ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok, Claude and AI Overviews for tracking (Indexly).
Best for: teams that want a stated monthly article count and an autopilot mode.
Where it falls short: WordPress publishing starts at $299, the connection method is not described, and no trial is mentioned on the pricing page.
7. Semji
Semji says it tracks AI visibility on ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude and DeepSeek, has agents prepare drafts against your brand voice, and sends finished drafts to WordPress (including Yoast), Drupal, Magento, Shopify, Contentful or Strapi. Posts are created as drafts unless an agent is explicitly asked to publish, and you review every proposal before anything is applied (Semji, read 24 October 2026). Pricing is by quote with no self-serve checkout (Semji pricing).
Best for: larger teams that want DeepSeek in the tracking and a sales-led setup.
Where it falls short: no public price, no stated article limit and no trial terms on its pricing page.
Which well-known AI visibility tools did not make the list?
Several tools that write content did not show a WordPress publishing route on the pages we have read, so they are not in the seven:
- Trakkr includes 25 articles a month on its $100 Growth plan (Trakkr pricing, read 17 October 2026), but the plan details we recorded name no WordPress publishing method.
- Promptwatch adds 5 AEO articles a month on its $245 Professional plan (Promptwatch pricing, read 1 and 8 October 2026).
- Profound lists WordPress only as an integration for its Agent Analytics traffic reporting (read 24 September 2026).
- AthenaHQ includes a content optimisation agent on its $295 Starter plan, and Scrunch Core includes one page optimisation a month (both read 24 September 2026).
For the wider field, see the best AI visibility tracking tools in 2026, and for tools you can test before paying, AI visibility tools with a free trial.
What should the articles say to get cited?
An article that publishes on time but never gets cited does not move your AI visibility. Whichever tool writes it, the drafts should answer the buyer question in the first two sentences, name your product where it fits, and carry facts an engine can quote: prices, limits, dates. Our guide to getting cited by AI with llms.txt, schema and FAQ pages covers the on-page side, and how to get cited by ChatGPT covers the off-site side.
Which should you pick?
- You want the gap found and the article published from one plan: Cituna, from $49 a month with 30 articles, seven engines daily and approval or automatic publishing.
- You want a plugin option or scheduled publishing: Sight AI, from $99.
- You want a single plan with a fixed article count: RankSpot, $99 for 30 articles.
- Every article must wait for an editor: Lantern (free plan, Pro $89) or Semji (by quote).
- You want an autopilot agent with stated counts and can spend more: Indexly Growth at $299.
Whichever you choose, connect it with a dedicated Author user and an application password, and run the first articles as drafts. If you still need to decide what to track before you choose a writer, how to choose an AI visibility tool walks through the criteria. To see Cituna's plans and what each publishes, visit cituna.com.
Sources
- WordPress developer documentation, Application Passwords, read 24 October 2026.
- WordPress documentation, Roles and Capabilities, last modified 2 September 2026, read 24 October 2026.
- Vendor pages linked in each section, read 24 October 2026, except Lantern's WordPress post (dated 30 March 2026) and the tools in "did not make the list", read on the dates shown.
- Cituna plans and AutoSEO limits: cituna.com/pricing and Cituna's comparison of tools that write content, read 24 October 2026.
Frequently asked questions
Which AI visibility tool writes and publishes articles to WordPress?
Cituna does on every paid plan: AutoSEO writes 30 articles a month on Starter ($49), 90 on Pro ($119) and 300 on Max ($399), and publishes them to WordPress with approval or automatically, while tracking seven AI engines daily. Sight AI, RankSpot, Skayle, Indexly, Lantern and Semji also state a WordPress route on their own pages (all read 24 October 2026).
Do I need to install a WordPress plugin?
Usually not. RankSpot, Skayle and Lantern connect with a WordPress application password, and RankSpot says no plugin is needed. Sight AI offers both: an application password or its own plugin. Indexly and Semji do not describe the method on the pages we read (24 October 2026).
Is it safe to give an AI tool access to my WordPress site?
It is safer with three habits: give the tool its own WordPress user with the Author or Editor role, connect it with an application password rather than your login password, and start in draft mode. WordPress says application passwords cannot be used to log in to wp-admin, can be revoked one at a time, and work over HTTPS by default.
Can Cituna publish to WordPress during the free trial?
No. The 3-day trial, which needs a card and is not charged during the trial, writes articles but does not publish them. Publishing to WordPress starts on a paid plan, and Starter saves articles as drafts by default.
Which WordPress role should the AI tool's user have?
Author, if the tool only creates and publishes blog posts: WordPress's roles page says an Author can publish and manage their own posts and upload files. Choose Editor only if the tool must create pages or edit other people's posts. A Contributor cannot publish or upload files.
Do these tools publish automatically or wait for approval?
It varies. Cituna, Sight AI and RankSpot offer both approval and automatic publishing. Skayle describes review and approval before content goes live. Lantern and Semji save drafts for a person to publish. Indexly says review is optional and its autopilot agent is on Growth and Scale (all read 24 October 2026).
For you
Learn to do this with AI, free
Short courses for people who aren't engineers: ChatGPT, Claude, prompting and automation. Every lesson is free, with no card.
Start a free courseFor companies
Make an AI or automation tool?
List it in the directory for $9.99, refunded in full if it isn't approved, or claim its page if it is already here.
Related guides
15 Best AI Visibility Tools for Marketing Agencies [2026 Comparison]15 AI visibility tools compared for agencies in 2026: engines, per-client pricing, white-label reports, Search Console and API or MCP access.
11 Best AI Visibility Tools for B2B Companies (2026)11 AI visibility tools compared for B2B buyers in 2026: engines, SSO, multi-region tracking, CRM and BI links, API access and price.
AI Visibility Tools With an MCP Server, and How to Connect One to Claude (2026)Ten AI visibility tools with an MCP server, the plan and sign-in each needs, and step-by-step setup for Cituna in Claude, Claude Desktop and ChatGPT.
Tools in this piece
Drafted with AI assistance from our own research, and reviewed by the Automate Basics team before publishing. Tools and prices change; check the linked official source before you act.
Get the next one by email
One email a week: what changed in AI for people who use it at work, and what to do about it.