Automate Basics

Profound vs AthenaHQ

Profound: AI marketing platform that tracks brand visibility in AI answers and runs content agents. AthenaHQ: AEO and GEO platform that tracks AI search visibility and recommends content actions. Here is how they compare on price, free plan, platforms and the jobs each does best, from each vendor's own pages.

Compiled by · Facts checked 24 September 2026

Profound

Contact sales

Visit
AthenaHQ

Free plan · from $245/mo

Visit
ProfoundAthenaHQ
What it isAI marketing platform that tracks brand visibility in AI answers and runs content agentsAEO and GEO platform that tracks AI search visibility and recommends content actions
PricingContact salesFree plan
Free planNoYes
Cheapest paid planNot published$245/mo billed annually (Starter)
Free trial7-day free trial: 50 prompts run daily on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, with limited AI Marketer creditsNone stated
PlatformsWeb, APIWeb, API
Integrations (vendor's figure)Not statedNot stated
Open sourceNoNo
Made byProfoundAthenaHQ

Choose Profound if…

  • The job is running AI visibility tracking and content agents for a large brand in one platform.
  • The job is auditing AI visibility for agency prospects and clients.

Choose AthenaHQ if…

Still weighing it up?

If neither is quite right, Profound and AthenaHQ are also compared with their other rivals: Profound vs Peec AI and Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit vs Ahrefs Brand Radar.

What Profound does

  • Answer Engine Insights: brand and competitor visibility, citations, sentiment and ranking in AI answers
  • Enterprise tracking across up to 9 engines, including ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek, Claude and Google AI Overviews
  • Prompt Volumes: estimates of what people ask AI assistants
  • AI Marketer agent and reusable Agents for research, content and reporting, run on credits
  • Agent Analytics for AI-sourced traffic, with integrations for Cloudflare, Vercel, Akamai, AWS, Fastly and WordPress
  • ChatGPT Shopping tracking on Enterprise

Watch out for

  • No self-serve plan for brands: after the 7-day trial, Enterprise is priced by quote
  • The trial uses a recommended prompt set that cannot be customised and covers three engines
  • Agents run on credits, and more than the allotment needs an Enterprise package

What AthenaHQ does

  • Tracks ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews and AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI and Mistral on the Starter plan
  • Credit-based usage: one credit is one AI response
  • Prompt and response analysis with source and competitor insights
  • Content recommendations and a content optimization agent
  • Smart robots.txt and llms.txt management for AI crawler access
  • Google Analytics (GA4), Google Search Console, Shopify and Webflow integrations

Watch out for

  • The only paid self-serve plan costs $295 a month ($245 billed annually)
  • API access and extra credits are paid add-ons on Starter, priced on request
  • Tracking in multiple regions and languages is an Enterprise feature

Questions

Do Profound and AthenaHQ have free plans?

AthenaHQ does; Profound does not, though it offers a 7-day free trial: 50 prompts run daily on ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, with limited AI Marketer credits.

Every fact here comes from each vendor's own pages; the sources are listed on the Profound and AthenaHQ pages.