Automate Basics

Canva vs Adobe Firefly

Canva is online design tool with templates, stock media and AI features. Adobe Firefly is adobe's generative AI app for images, video and audio, with credit-based plans. Here is how they compare on price, free plan, platforms and the jobs each does best, from each vendor's own pages.

Facts checked 23 September 2026

Canva

Free plan · from $12/mo

Visit
Adobe Firefly

Free plan · from $9.99/mo

Visit
CanvaAdobe Firefly
What it isOnline design tool with templates, stock media and AI featuresAdobe's generative AI app for images, video and audio, with credit-based plans
PricingFree planFree plan
Free planYesYes
Cheapest paid plan$12/mo (Pro)$9.99/mo (Firefly Standard)
Free trialFree trial offered for Pro and Business (length not stated on the pricing page)Free trial offered on paid plans (length not stated on the plans page)
PlatformsWeb, iOS, Android, macOS, WindowsWeb
Integrations (vendor's figure)Not statedNot stated
Open sourceNoNo
Made byCanvaAdobe

Choose Canva if…

  • You want a mobile app (iOS and Android).
  • You want a desktop app (macOS, Windows).
  • The job is making social media graphics and ads from templates.
  • The job is keeping team designs on brand with shared Brand Kits.

Choose Adobe Firefly if…

  • Price matters: its cheapest paid plan is $9.99/mo against $12/mo.
  • The job is generating images for social posts, presentations and marketing drafts.
  • The job is creating short video clips and audio from text prompts.

Still weighing it up?

If neither is quite right, see how other AI image and design tools compare: Midjourney vs Ideogram.

What Canva does

  • Drag-and-drop editor covering 1,000+ design types
  • Templates: 1.6M+ on Free, 3.6M+ including premium on paid plans
  • AI tools such as resize, translate and background removal on Pro
  • Brand Kits: 1 on Free (3 colours), 5 on Pro, 100 on Business
  • Social content scheduling on Pro
  • Canva Offline for working without a connection

Watch out for

  • Free plan: 5GB storage and up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses per month
  • Ultra AI tools and Design in bulk are not available on Free
  • SSO and SCIM provisioning require the Enterprise plan

What Adobe Firefly does

  • Image, video and audio generation from prompts
  • Monthly generative credits from 2,000 (Standard) to 50,000 (Premium)
  • Free daily generations that refresh every day
  • Paid plans include Firefly on web and mobile
  • Team versions of Pro, Pro Plus and Premium sold per licence

Watch out for

  • Free tier is limited to a daily allowance of generations
  • Paid plans are capped by monthly generative credits (2,000 on Firefly Standard)

Questions

Is Canva or Adobe Firefly cheaper?

On published entry prices, Adobe Firefly is cheaper: $12/mo (Pro) for Canva against $9.99/mo (Firefly Standard) for Adobe Firefly. What each plan includes differs, so compare the limits too.

Do Canva and Adobe Firefly have free plans?

Both do. Canva: 5GB cloud storage; up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses (monthly allowance); 1 Brand Kit (3 colours only); 1.6M+ templates. Adobe Firefly: Free daily generations across image, video and audio with access to popular models; limits refresh every day.

Every fact here comes from each vendor's own pages; the sources are listed on the Canva and Adobe Firefly pages.