Automate Basics
Operations

6 Best Pipedream Alternatives in 2026

By

· 10 min read

A whiteboard sketch of an automation, boxes joined by arrows, with a hand holding a marker
Image: AI-generated illustration.

The best Pipedream alternative for most developers is n8n: it runs JavaScript and Python in a Code node, bills per workflow execution rather than per step, and is one of two options here you can self-host for free (with Activepieces). Make and Zapier are the easier hosted choices if your team is less technical, Activepieces is the open-source pick with TypeScript pieces, Pabbly Connect is the cheapest per task, and Workato is the enterprise route. None of them matches Pipedream's Go and Bash support or its 750-second step duration on paid plans.

If you are leaving Pipedream, the question that matters is what happens to your code steps. n8n is the closest replacement for most developers: its Code node runs JavaScript and Python, you pay per workflow execution rather than per second of compute, and the Community Edition can be self-hosted for free. Make and Zapier are the easier hosted options when the builders are not developers, Activepieces is the open-source choice with TypeScript pieces, Pabbly Connect is the low-cost option that does not count internal steps, and Workato is for companies that need enterprise governance more than a code editor.

Browse every tool in the workflow automation category if you want the full directory alongside this shortlist.

We checked each tool's own pricing and documentation pages on 25 September 2026. Prices below are in US dollars unless stated.

Why teams look past Pipedream

Pipedream is built for developers. Its pricing page lists workflow code steps in Node.js, Python, Go and Bash, with most npm and PyPI packages available, steps that can run for up to 750 seconds on paid plans, and more than 3,000 integrated apps. Few rivals match that.

People still leave, usually for one of three reasons.

The credit meter. Pipedream's documentation defines a credit as 30 seconds of compute time at 256 MB of memory. The free plan includes 100 credits a month with a hard cap, three active workflows and three connected accounts. Basic costs $29 a month billed annually ($348 a year) for 2,000 credits, with ten active workflows and five connected accounts. For workflows that do a lot of slow waiting on APIs, compute-based billing can add up in ways a per-run price does not.

The product direction. Workday announced an agreement to acquire Pipedream on 19 November 2025. Pipedream's homepage now describes the product as an integration layer for AI agents, and leads with its Connect product (managed authentication and prebuilt tools for developers' own apps). If you use Pipedream for internal workflows, it is reasonable to check whether that is still where the product is heading.

Team access. Single sign-on needs Pipedream's Business plan, which is priced by quote, according to its SSO documentation.

How we chose these alternatives

We started from the tools in the Automate Basics directory's workflow automation category and kept only those that passed one test: you can write your own code as a step inside a workflow, confirmed on the vendor's own pages on 25 September 2026. That is the feature Pipedream users rely on most, so a tool without it is not a real replacement.

Six tools passed. Two did not, and one is out of scope:

  • IFTTT allows filter code on its Pro+ plan to refine when an applet runs, but not a code step that does work of its own.
  • Microsoft Power Automate lists no general JavaScript or Python step for cloud flows on its pricing or product pages (checked 25 September 2026).
  • Gumloop's pricing page lists its workflow builder as legacy, with agents now the main product.

A fourth, Relay.app, shut down in September 2026.

The order below reflects how closely each tool replaces Pipedream for a developer: code languages first, then whether you can self-host, then the price of the entry paid plan. It is our judgement from the published facts, not a test of performance.

Pipedream alternatives compared

ToolCode in a stepCode time limitSelf-hostEntry paid plan (25 Sep 2026)Billing unit
n8nJavaScript, PythonNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, free Community EditionStarter $20/month billed yearlyWorkflow execution
MakeJavaScript, Python (paid plans)30 seconds (300 on Enterprise)NoCore from $9/month billed yearlyCredit per module action
ZapierJavaScript, Python1 second free, 30 seconds paid, 2 minutes EnterpriseNoProfessional $19.99/month billed yearlyTask
ActivepiecesTypeScript with npmNot stated on the pages we checkedYes, MIT Community EditionPlus $20/month flatCredit per run
Pabbly ConnectJavaScript, PythonNot stated on the pages we checkedNoStandard $14/month billed monthly (listed at $19, discounted on 25 Sep 2026)Task (internal steps free)
WorkatoPython snippets90 secondsNoQuote onlyNot published
Pipedream (baseline)Node.js, Python, Go, BashUp to 750 seconds on paid plansNoBasic $29/month billed yearlyCredit per 30 seconds of compute

You can see how the hosted tools stack up head to head in Zapier vs n8n and Make vs n8n.

1. n8n

Best for: developers who want to keep writing JavaScript or Python and would rather run a server than pay per second of compute.

n8n is a visual workflow builder where any step can be a Code node. Its homepage and GitHub page both say you can write JavaScript or Python inside a workflow, and the documentation describes If and Switch nodes for branching. The homepage claims more than 500 integrations, plus custom HTTP requests for anything else.

The pricing model is the main difference from Pipedream. n8n counts full workflow executions, not steps and not compute time, so a slow API call costs the same as a fast one. The Starter cloud plan is $24 a month, or $20 a month billed yearly, for 2,500 executions and five concurrent runs. Pro is $60 a month, or $50 billed yearly, for 10,000 executions. The self-hosted Community Edition is free to run on your own server. The cloud trial needs no credit card and allows 1,000 executions.

Where it falls short: n8n is "fair-code" under its Sustainable Use License, which makes the source available but is not an open-source licence in the usual sense. Single sign-on, Git version control and separate environments need the self-hosted Business plan or Enterprise. And self-hosting means someone owns upgrades, backups and uptime.

Directory entry: n8n on Automate Basics. If you are new to it, the n8n basics guide walks through a first workflow. Source: n8n pricing.

2. Make

Best for: mixed teams where most people build visually and a developer adds a code step when the built-in modules run out.

Make builds automations, called scenarios, on a visual canvas. Its router module splits a scenario into separate branches, each with its own conditions. Make's pricing page lists more than 3,000 apps, and its about page says Make is part of Celonis.

The Make Code app runs JavaScript or Python and is available on every paid plan, according to Make's app documentation. It has a 30-second limit and 512 MB of memory on standard plans, rising to 300 seconds and 1,024 MB on Enterprise, where you can also import third-party libraries. It costs two credits for every second the code runs.

The free plan gives 1,000 credits a month and two active scenarios, with runs at least 15 minutes apart. Core starts at $9 a month billed yearly for 10,000 credits. Every module action uses one credit.

Where it falls short: 30 seconds is a short ceiling after Pipedream's 750, so heavy processing belongs somewhere else. Single sign-on and custom functions are Enterprise only. There is no self-hosted version.

Directory entry: Make on Automate Basics. Source: Make Code documentation.

3. Zapier

Best for: teams that want the widest app catalogue and only need short scripts to reshape data between steps.

Zapier's homepage claims more than 9,000 apps, the largest catalogue of any tool here. Code by Zapier runs Python or JavaScript in a step. Zapier's pricing page sets the run time by plan: one second on Free, 30 seconds on Professional and Team, and two minutes on Enterprise.

The free plan gives 100 tasks a month and two-step Zaps only. Professional starts at $19.99 a month billed yearly, or $29.99 billed monthly, for 750 tasks, and adds multi-step Zaps and webhooks. Team starts at $69 a month billed yearly and adds SAML single sign-on. New accounts get a 14-day Professional trial with no credit card.

Where it falls short: every action step, code step included, draws from one monthly task allowance, so code-heavy Zaps get expensive. Zapier is hosted only. A one-second limit on the free plan is too short to test much real code.

Directory entry: Zapier on Automate Basics. Source: Zapier pricing.

4. Activepieces

Best for: developers who want an open-source core and are comfortable writing TypeScript.

Activepieces pairs a no-code flow builder with code steps that can use npm packages. Its integrations, called pieces, are open-source TypeScript, so you can write your own when one is missing. The pricing page claims more than 760 integrations; the GitHub README gives a lower figure (200 pieces), so treat the count as approximate.

The Community Edition is MIT-licensed, and features for larger teams sit under a commercial licence. Every plan can run on Activepieces' cloud or on your own servers, according to the pricing page. The billing unit is simple: one run costs one credit however many steps it has, with extra credits for AI steps. Free gives 100 credits a day for one user. Plus is $20 a month flat for 10,000 credits and up to five users, with further credits at $0.007 each.

Where it falls short: the code environment is TypeScript only, so Python and Go steps need rewriting. Single sign-on starts on the $200-a-month Team plan, and audit logs and Git sync are on the custom Ultimate plan.

Directory entry: Activepieces on Automate Basics. Source: Activepieces pricing.

5. Pabbly Connect

Best for: small teams on a tight budget whose workflows are full of filters, routers and formatters.

Pabbly Connect has a JavaScript and Python code module, routers for branching and more than 2,000 integrations, according to its pricing page. Its distinctive rule is that triggers and internal steps such as filters, routers and formatters do not count as tasks. Only actions sent to an external app do.

The free plan gives 100 tasks a month with unlimited workflows, each limited to two steps. On 25 September 2026 the Standard plan was $14 a month billed monthly for 10,000 tasks, discounted from a listed $19, with lower rates on longer terms. Pabbly also sells one-off lifetime plans with fixed monthly task limits. Its product page says it holds SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO 27001:2022 certification.

Where it falls short: Pabbly does not state a run-time limit for code, and it is hosted only. Team members are not available on monthly plans. The pricing page shows local currency by location and marks the Standard price as a discount, so check the current figure in your own currency.

Directory entry: Pabbly Connect on Automate Basics. Source: Pabbly Connect pricing.

6. Workato

Best for: larger companies moving from Pipedream to a governed enterprise platform, where central control matters more than code flexibility.

Workato is an enterprise automation platform covering integrations, API management, data orchestration and AI agents (Agent Studio and a multi-agent system it calls AIRO). Its homepage describes central identity, policy, approvals and cost controls over every workflow and agent. For code, its Python snippets connector runs Python 3.9 or later inside a recipe, with a 256 MB memory quota, a 90-second timeout and a 1 MB limit on code size.

Where it falls short: Workato publishes no prices. On 25 September 2026 its pricing page offered a demo and no plan details, and the site links to a trial with no terms stated. Python is the only language in the snippets connector. For a solo developer or a small team, this is almost certainly more platform than you need.

Directory entry: Workato on Automate Basics. Source: Workato Python snippets documentation.

When staying on Pipedream is the better call

Before you migrate, compare your workflows with the table. Stay if any of these apply:

  • You use Go or Bash steps. No tool here runs them.
  • Your steps run for minutes. Pipedream allows up to 750 seconds per step on paid plans. Among the alternatives that publish a limit, only Workato (90 seconds), Zapier Enterprise (two minutes) and Make Enterprise (300 seconds) go past 30.
  • You build integrations into your own product. Pipedream Connect handles end users' authentication for your app, and nothing on this list is a direct substitute.

Your Pipedream baseline is on its directory page.

How to move your code steps

  1. Export the code first. Copy every code step into a repository before you change anything, with a note of the packages it imports.
  2. Sort steps by language. JavaScript and Python move to n8n, Make, Zapier or Pabbly with light edits. TypeScript suits Activepieces. Go and Bash need rewriting wherever you go.
  3. Time each step. If a step runs for more than 30 seconds, rule out Make and Zapier's standard plans for it.
  4. Rebuild the busiest workflow first and run both versions side by side for a full business cycle before you switch the old one off.

The same one-workflow-at-a-time approach is in our guide to Zapier alternatives, and the trade-offs between the three best-known platforms are set out in Zapier vs Make vs n8n vs ChatGPT.

Where to go next

Open the directory page for your top two picks, n8n and Make for most readers, and compare their limits with the code steps on your list. When a plan changes, the vendor's pricing page linked in each entry is the source to trust.

Drafted with AI assistance from our own research and Search Console data, and reviewed by the Automate Basics team before publishing. Tools and prices change; check the linked official source before you act.

Try this now

List the steps in your Pipedream workflows that run code, and note the language and the longest run time for each. That list decides the shortlist faster than any feature table.

Frequently asked questions

Is Pipedream still available after the Workday deal?

Yes. Workday announced an agreement to acquire Pipedream on 19 November 2025, and on 25 September 2026 Pipedream still published self-serve plans from a free tier upward on its pricing page. The homepage now describes Pipedream as an integration layer for AI agents, which is worth knowing if you use it mainly for internal workflows.

Is there a free Pipedream alternative that runs code?

The self-hosted n8n Community Edition is free to run and supports JavaScript and Python in its Code node; you pay for the server instead. The self-hosted Activepieces Community Edition is MIT-licensed and also free. On hosted free plans, Zapier allows code steps with a one-second runtime; Pabbly Connect's JavaScript and Python module starts on its paid Standard plan.

Which alternative is closest to writing code in Pipedream?

n8n is closest: a Code node accepts JavaScript or Python, the canvas handles branching, and you can self-host it. Make and Zapier both run JavaScript and Python, but with a 30-second limit on standard plans, so they suit short transformations rather than heavy processing.

Tools in this piece

Drafted with AI assistance from our own research and Search Console data, and reviewed by the Automate Basics team before publishing. Tools and prices change; check the linked official source before you act.