Notion vs ClickUp
Notion is workspace for docs, wikis, databases and projects with built-in AI. ClickUp is work management app combining tasks, docs, chat and AI in one workspace. Here is how they compare on price, free plan, platforms and the jobs each does best, from each vendor's own pages.
| Notion | ClickUp | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Workspace for docs, wikis, databases and projects with built-in AI | Work management app combining tasks, docs, chat and AI in one workspace |
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Free plan | Yes | Yes |
| Cheapest paid plan | $10/user/mo billed annually (Plus) | $7/user/mo billed annually (Unlimited) |
| Free trial | None stated | None stated |
| Platforms | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Chrome extension | Web, macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, Chrome extension |
| Integrations (vendor's figure) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open source | No | No |
| Made by | Notion Labs, Inc. | ClickUp |
Choose Notion if…
- The job is keeping a team wiki, meeting notes and project tracker in one shared workspace.
- The job is building simple databases for clients, content calendars or hiring without code.
Choose ClickUp if…
- Price matters: its cheapest paid plan is $7/user/mo against $10/user/mo.
- The job is running client projects with tasks, deadlines and Gantt timelines.
- The job is keeping team docs, chat and task lists in one place.
Still weighing it up?
If neither is quite right, see how other AI productivity and scheduling tools compare: Microsoft 365 Copilot vs Gemini in Google Workspace and Motion vs Reclaim.ai.
To see one of them doing real work, read Email to Notion: Auto-Create Tasks From Your Inbox (n8n Workflow).
What Notion does
- Pages, wikis and databases with subtasks, dependencies and custom properties
- Notion Agent completes multi-step tasks using workspace, connected-app and web context (Business and Enterprise)
- AI Meeting Notes with transcription and summaries (Business and Enterprise; limited trial on Free and Plus)
- Forms, sites and charts built from workspace content
- Custom Agents: free to try, then $10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits
- Companion apps: Notion Calendar and a Chrome web clipper
Watch out for
- Notion AI is only a limited trial on Free and Plus; full access starts on Business ($20 per member/month billed yearly)
- Free plan limits file uploads to 5 MB and page history to 7 days, and block storage is limited once a workspace has 2+ members
- Custom Agents and premium AI models use Notion credits, which are charged separately
What ClickUp does
- Tasks, projects and sprints with list, board, calendar and Gantt views
- Docs, whiteboards, chat and email inside the workspace
- Automations (5K per month on Business, 250K on Enterprise)
- Native time tracking, goals and dashboards
- ClickUp Brain AI add-on with an AI assistant and agents; Everything AI adds an AI notetaker and image generation
- Apps for web, Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android
Watch out for
- Free Forever is capped at 60 MB of storage and 1 form
- AI beyond a trial needs a paid add-on ($9 or $28 per user/month) on top of the workspace plan
- SAML SSO, SCIM and audit logs are limited to Enterprise
Questions
Is Notion or ClickUp cheaper?
On published entry prices, ClickUp is cheaper: $10/user/mo billed annually (Plus) for Notion against $7/user/mo billed annually (Unlimited) for ClickUp. What each plan includes differs, so compare the limits too.
Do Notion and ClickUp have free plans?
Both do. Notion: Pages and blocks unlimited for individuals but limited for workspaces with 2+ members; file uploads up to 5 MB; 7-day page history; up to 10 external guests; 1 chart; Notion AI as a limited trial only. ClickUp: 60 MB storage, unlimited tasks, unlimited free plan members, 1 form; AI limited to trial access.