Automate Basics

Grammarly

AI writing assistant for grammar, tone, rewrites and text generation

AI writing toolsFree plan · from $12/user/mo

What is Grammarly?

Grammarly checks spelling, grammar and tone as people write in browsers, desktop apps, Microsoft Office, Google Docs and on mobile devices. It suggests sentence rewrites, generates text from prompts, and on paid plans detects plagiarism and AI-generated text. Grammarly is now one product in the Superhuman suite, after the company behind it renamed itself Superhuman in October 2025.

Good for

  • Proofreading emails and documents before sending
  • Adjusting the tone of client messages
  • Checking reports for plagiarism before publishing

Key features

  • Spelling, grammar and tone suggestions
  • One-click full-sentence rewrites
  • Text generation from prompts
  • Plagiarism and AI-generated text detection (Pro)
  • Browser extensions, Windows and Mac apps, Microsoft Office and Google Docs integration

Limitations to know about

  • Free plan includes 100 AI prompts; Pro allows 2,000 per member per month
  • Plagiarism and AI-text detection require Pro
  • Unlimited prompts, BYOK encryption and custom roles are Enterprise-only

Grammarly pricing

PlanPriceWhat you get
Free$0Spelling and grammar, tone detection, 100 AI prompts
Pro$30/member/month billed monthly, or $12/member/month billed annuallyFull-sentence rewrites, tone adjustment, plagiarism and AI-text detection, 2,000 AI prompts per member per month
EnterpriseContact salesUnlimited prompts, BYOK encryption, custom roles; sold through Superhuman Go

Free plan limits: Spelling, grammar and tone feedback, plus 100 AI prompts (the plans page does not state a period for the free prompts).

Prices in US dollars as published on Grammarly's pricing page on 23 September 2026. Vendors change prices often; check theirs before you buy. Current prices

Grammarly alternatives

QuillBot

AI paraphrasing, grammar checking and summarizing tools for writers

AI writing toolsFree plan · from $8.33/mo

Wordtune

AI writing assistant for rewriting, summarizing and grammar checks

AI writing toolsFree plan · from $4.89/mo

Writer

Enterprise AI platform with agents, playbooks and brand style controls

AI writing toolsSee pricing

Rytr

AI writing assistant with templates, tones and a plagiarism checker

AI writing toolsFree plan

Jasper

AI platform with agents and brand controls for marketing content

AI writing toolsFree trial · from $59/user/mo

Copy.ai

AI platform for sales and marketing teams to automate go-to-market work

AI writing toolsFrom $24/mo

Head to head: Grammarly vs QuillBot

Frequently asked questions

Is Grammarly free?

Grammarly has a free plan. Spelling, grammar and tone feedback, plus 100 AI prompts (the plans page does not state a period for the free prompts). Paid plans start at $12/user/mo billed annually.

How much does Grammarly cost?

Grammarly's cheapest paid plan, Pro, costs $30 a month billed monthly and $12 a month billed annually. $144 per member per year on annual billing; quarterly option $60 per member every three months; 2,000 AI prompts per member per month. There is also an enterprise plan priced on request. Prices as published on Grammarly's pricing page on 23 September 2026.

What is Grammarly used for?

Grammarly checks spelling, grammar and tone as people write in browsers, desktop apps, Microsoft Office, Google Docs and on mobile devices. People use it for proofreading emails and documents before sending, adjusting the tone of client messages and checking reports for plagiarism before publishing.

What are the alternatives to Grammarly?

Tools that do a similar job include QuillBot, Wordtune, Writer, Rytr and Jasper. Each has its own page here with its plans, limits and prices.

Who makes Grammarly?

Grammarly is made by Superhuman Platform (company formerly named Grammarly), based in San Francisco, California, US. The company was founded in 2009.

Sources

Every fact on this page comes from Superhuman Platform (company formerly named Grammarly)'s own pages, read on the dates shown.

  1. grammarly.com/plans (plans, free plan, trial, Enterprise inclusions, footer company name) read 23 September 2026
  2. support.grammarly.com/hc/en-us/articles/115000090011-How-much-does-Grammarly-Pro-cost (Pro monthly, quarterly and annual prices; Superhuman note) read 23 September 2026
  3. grammarly.com/ (description, features, platforms, 'part of Superhuman' wording) read 23 September 2026
  4. grammarly.com/about (company.founded, company rename to Superhuman (October 2025)) read 23 September 2026
  5. grammarly.com/blog/company/announcing-company-rebrand-to-superhuman/ (status (Superhuman suite products; product keeps Grammarly name)) read 23 September 2026
  6. en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grammarly (company.hq (not stated on grammarly.com/about)) read 23 September 2026

Compiled by from the vendor's own pages. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.