Automate Basics

Cursor vs GitHub Copilot

Cursor is aI code editor with agents that write and change code. GitHub Copilot is gitHub's AI coding assistant for code completion, chat, agents and review. Here is how they compare on price, free plan, platforms and the jobs each does best, from each vendor's own pages.

Facts checked 23 September 2026

Cursor

Free plan · from $20/mo

Visit
GitHub Copilot

Free plan · from $10/user/mo

Visit
CursorGitHub Copilot
What it isAI code editor with agents that write and change codeGitHub's AI coding assistant for code completion, chat, agents and review
PricingFree planFree plan
Free planYesYes
Cheapest paid plan$20/mo (Pro)$10/user/mo (Pro)
Free trialNone statedNone stated
PlatformsmacOS, Windows, Linux, WebWeb, macOS, Windows, Linux
Integrations (vendor's figure)Not statedNot stated
Open sourceNoNo
Made byAnysphere, Inc.GitHub (Microsoft)

Choose Cursor if…

  • The job is building or changing a small app by describing the change.
  • The job is fixing bugs across several files.

Choose GitHub Copilot if…

  • The job is getting code suggestions while writing scripts or apps.
  • The job is asking questions about an unfamiliar codebase.

Still weighing it up?

If neither is quite right, see how other AI coding assistants compare: Claude Code vs OpenAI Codex.

What Cursor does

  • AI agent that writes and edits code in the editor
  • Cloud agents started from a browser, phone, Slack, GitHub or Linear
  • Command-line agent for any terminal
  • Grok models with higher limits on paid plans
  • MCP servers, skills and hooks
  • Grok Bot access on paid plans

Watch out for

  • The Hobby plan has limited Agent requests
  • Bugbot is billed on usage on top of the plan price
  • Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales

What GitHub Copilot does

  • Code completions and next edit suggestions
  • Chat in the IDE, on GitHub.com and in GitHub Mobile
  • Agent mode that edits files in the workspace
  • Cloud agent and code review on paid plans
  • Copilot CLI for the terminal
  • Choice of models, with premium models on higher plans

Watch out for

  • The Free plan is capped at 2,000 completions per month
  • Paid plans include a monthly AI credit allowance (1,500 on Pro)
  • Cloud agent and code review are not in the Free plan

Questions

Is Cursor or GitHub Copilot cheaper?

On published entry prices, GitHub Copilot is cheaper: $20/mo (Pro) for Cursor against $10/user/mo (Pro) for GitHub Copilot. What each plan includes differs, so compare the limits too.

Do Cursor and GitHub Copilot have free plans?

Both do. Cursor: Hobby plan: limited Agent requests, access to Composer, no credit card required. GitHub Copilot: 2,000 code completions per month, limited chat and agent usage, Haiku 4.5 and GPT-5 mini models, Copilot CLI included; no credit card required.

Every fact here comes from each vendor's own pages; the sources are listed on the Cursor and GitHub Copilot pages.